fbpx
Tickets for LACC's Spring Benefit are on sale!

校友角--霍里-达斯托尔

2020年4月24日

LACC很高兴为我们的月刊Accents介绍这一重要的新内容。校友园地 "的灵感来自于许多LACC合唱团的毕业生,他们不断地说:"LACC在我作为一个歌手,在我所选择的职业,以及作为一个人的发展中发挥了重要作用。"我们很感谢有机会认识和重新介绍我们以前的几个合唱团员。


本月我们很高兴为大家介绍霍里-达斯托尔(音乐会合唱团,'90-'94)。

去年秋天,当圣何塞歌剧院找到他们的新总导演时,他们不需要看得很远。这是因为湾区歌剧的新掌舵人是从他们自己的队伍中挑选出来的,这个人在歌唱和管理歌剧公司方面有十多年的经验。这位新的总经理是霍里-达斯托尔,这位女高音曾在洛杉矶歌剧院、沃尔特-迪斯尼音乐厅、圣何塞歌剧院、科尔本学校、阿斯彭音乐节、罗伊斯音乐厅、乔治湖歌剧院和洛杉矶大师合唱团等场所演唱。

Dastoor在2007年加入了圣何塞歌剧院的主要艺术家常驻团,并在北美、欧洲和亚洲进行了全球巡演,然后在2012年回到家乡,追求行政方面的事业,在晋升为艺术规划总监之前,加入了艺术工作人员,担任总导演的艺术顾问。而现在,作为总导演,她负责整个歌剧团的日常运作和长期规划。

今年2月,LACC采访了这位帕萨迪纳人,了解她自己在合唱团的日子--那时LACC只有一个合唱团,即音乐会合唱团,并想知道她对我们现在的合唱团成员是否有什么建议。请看下面我们对Dastoor的采访。

你对早期生活中的歌曲有什么美好的回忆吗?

当我年轻时,我在理工学院上学,当时丽贝卡-汤普森(1986年LACC的共同创始人,指挥和艺术总监,校友家长和前董事会成员)是那里的音乐老师。从很小的时候起,她就是我了解人声和音乐表达的大使。我清楚地记得她为我们的节日音乐会指定的歌曲。

是她鼓励我参加LACC的选拔。我对音乐最早的记忆是在三、四年级时和丽贝卡-汤普森一起唱歌。

你是如何第一次参与LACC的?

丽贝卡-汤普森鼓励我再次尝试,在三、四年级时--我可能还更小。这是我童年的一个重要部分。我记得10岁时在没有父母陪伴的情况下游览欧洲,与维也纳男孩合唱团一起唱歌,并进行参观奥斯威辛集中营等一日游活动。这对我来说是一个令人难以置信的形成期。当时我并不知道,我真正接受的是关于音乐如何诞生社区的教育,以及音乐如何将人类聚集在一起的力量和宣泄,这改变了我的整个人生。

在LACC,你最喜欢的记忆、巡演或音乐会经历是什么?

我马上想到了欧洲巡演。我还想到了我们做的一些商业录音。在《虎口脱险》的拍摄现场见到达斯汀-霍夫曼,看到音响舞台和电影场景的环境,这让我很兴奋。我记得,他们录制了一些孩子唱女演员要唱的歌,以防他们不能使用她的真实声音。在我这么小的时候,音乐就能打开并展现出所有这些我可能没有见过的世界,这真是令人惊讶。

LACC是如何帮助你为你目前在圣何塞歌剧院的工作做准备的?

除了在那个世界里感觉很自在之外,还有我对自己身份最早的想法。这是我一直以来的身份,明白我们是独立的艺术家,但也是整体的一部分,整体才是最重要的。

作为一个歌剧管理员,我的工作往往是在这个整体中利用有才华的人。

丽贝卡是一个典范,她的丈夫也是一个典范。她是正直、坚强和追求卓越的典范,她让我们了解到内部标准比外部赞扬的重要性。即使在那时,我们也学会了以这种非常高的标准来要求自己--我喜欢这样的人,喜欢这样的音乐家,我在与我一起工作和雇用的人中寻找这种标准。

您对目前的LACC合唱团成员有什么建议吗?

当你在其中时要记住一件事--这是你生命中短暂的时间。好莱坞碗的演出和洛杉矶菲尔的演出会消失,但你有这些令人难以置信的友谊,这些不会消失。和我一起去欧洲的人,我们仍然作为父母、朋友和音乐家相互支持。无论你是否从事音乐事业,这对你在合唱团中建立的友谊来说都是次要的。你是一个你将长期依赖的家庭的一部分。

你最喜欢的歌曲是什么?

我想我不能只挑一个,但 "如果爱是全部"(由诺埃尔-科瓦德创作,由朱莉-加兰录制)--它可能不是我所有时间的最爱,但我爱那首歌。这首歌有一些非常完美的地方。

你作为一个表演者的经验是如何为你目前在圣何塞歌剧院的职位做好准备的?你对圣何塞歌剧院的未来目标是什么?

唱歌影响了我作为领导者所做的一切。今天我们宣布了圣何塞歌剧院艺术家和音乐家救济基金,我不得不走进一个有100名表演者的房间,告诉他们他们的生计要消失了(这是由于COVID-19导致的演出和聚会取消的结果)。作为一个表演者,你可以在一场演出后就无法支付租金。如果没有经历过这种生活,我就无法思考这个机构和它的使命。这也有助于我思考歌手的心态--我理解为追求音乐事业所做的牺牲。

这15年[作为一个歌手]是对我所做的事情的训练。这也有助于我选择艺术家。它帮助我识别那些对观众慷慨的表演者,并帮助他们找到最能突出他们能力的曲目。

我的工作中的行政部分同样受到歌唱事业的影响。我非常注意业务中的权力等级,以及它们如何有利于或不利于艺术家,我工作的很大一部分是以积极的方式影响这一点。

LACC对你意味着什么?

LACC是一座桥梁,让我找到真正的自己,找到真正的自己。这是一件具体的事情,从课后活动开始,就像一道配菜,成为主菜。在如此年轻的时候就能成为一名音乐家,这让我看到了什么是可能。纪律、卓越、社区和对你周围的人负责是取得成就的关键,而LACC很早就教会了我许多这些课程。


LACC希望听到我们校友的声音!如果你或你认识的人适合参加 "校友角"--我们在这里与仍在寻找方法制作美妙音乐的校友叙旧,请联系Jared Clark,jclark@lachildrenschorus.org。

对与LACC一起唱歌感兴趣吗?

fbpx
Tickets for Sounds About Town and LACC's Spring Concert are on sale now!

ALUMNI CORNER – KHORI DASTOOR

April 24, 2020

LACC is excited to introduce this important new addition to our monthly Accents newsletter. The Alumni Corner is inspired by the many graduates of LACC’s ensembles who continually say “LACC played an important part in my development as a singer, in my chosen career, and as a person.” We are grateful for the opportunity to recognize and re-introduce a few of our former choristers.


This month we are pleased to profile Khori Dastoor (Concert Choir, ’90-’94).

When Opera San José found their new General director last fall, they didn’t have to look very far. That’s because the new helm of the Bay Area opera was chosen from their own ranks, a person with more than a decade of experience both singing with and administering the opera company. That new general director is Khori Dastoor, a soprano who has sung at such venues as Los Angeles Opera, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Opera San José, the Colburn School, Aspen Music Festival, Royce Hall, Lake George Opera, and the Los Angeles Master Chorale.

Dastoor joined Opera San José’s resident ensemble of principal artists in 2007 and toured globally in North America, Europe, and Asia, then returned home in 2012 to pursue a career on the administrative side—joining the artistic staff as an artistic advisor to the general director before being promoted to director of artistic planning. And now, as general director, she’s in charge of the day-to-day operations and long-term planning of the entire opera company.

LACC spoke to the Pasadena native in February to learn more about her own time with the choir—a time when LACC had only one ensemble, Concert Choir, and to see if she had any advice for our current crop of choristers. Read our interview with Dastoor below.

Do you have any fond memories of song in your early life?

When I was younger, I attended Polytechnic, and at the time Rebecca Thompson (LACC co-founder in 1986, conductor and Artistic Director, alumni parent, and former board member) was the music teacher there. From a young age she was my ambassador to the human voice and musical expression. I remember well the songs she’d assign to us for holiday concerts.

She’s the one who encouraged me to try out for LACC. My earliest memory of music is in 3rd or 4th grade singing songs with Rebecca Thompson.

How did you first get involved with LACC?

Rebecca Thompson encouraged me to try out, again, in 3rd or 4th grade—I may have even been younger. It was a big part of my childhood. I remember touring Europe without my parents as a 10 year old, singing with the Vienna Boys Choir, and doing day trips like visiting Auschwitz. It was an incredibly formative time for me. Without knowing it at the time, what I was really receiving was an education in how music births community and the power and catharsis of how music brings humans together, which changed my whole life.

What is a favorite memory, tour, or concert experience with LACC?

The Europe Tour immediately springs to mind. I also think about some of the commercial recordings we did. It was a thrill to meet Dustin Hoffman on the set of Hook and to see the sound stages and the movie set environment. The way I remember it, they recorded some kids singing the song the actress was going to sing in case they couldn’t use her real voice. It was amazing to have music open up and reveal all of these worlds I may not have otherwise seen at such a young age.

How did LACC help prepare you for your current career with Opera San José?

Aside from feeling so at home in that world, and my earliest thoughts about my identity. It’s who I’ve always been, and understanding that we’re individual artists, but also part of the whole and the whole is what’s most important.

As an opera admin my job is often about leveraging talented individuals in part of that whole.

Rebecca was a model and her husband was a model. She exemplified integrity and strength and a commitment to excellence and taught us about the importance of internal standard over external praise. Even then, we learned to hold ourselves to this very high standard—and I like that in people, and in musicians, and I seek that out in the people I work with and hire.

Do you have any advice for current LACC choristers?

One thing to remember when you’re in it—it’s a short amount of your life. The Hollywood Bowl gigs and LA Phil gigs go away, but you have these incredible friendships and those don’t go away. The people I went to Europe with, we still support each other as parents, and friends, and musicians. Whether you pursue a career in music or not, it’s secondary to the friendships you make in the chorus. You’re a part of a family you’ll rely on for a long time.

What’s your favorite song?

I don’t think I could pick just one, but “If Love Were All” (written by Noël Coward and recorded by Julie Garland)—it may not be my all-time favorite, but I love that song. There’s just something really perfect about the song.

How has your experience as a performer prepared you for your current position with Opera San José? What are some of your future goals for Opera San José?

Singing influences everything I do as a leader. Today we announced the Opera San José Artist and Musician Relief Fund, and I had to walk into a room of 100 performers and tell them their livelihood was going away (a result of the cancelation of performances and gatherings due to COVID-19). As a performer, you can be one gig away from not being able to pay rent. I couldn’t think about this institution and its mission without having lived that life. It also helps me think about the mentality of singers—I understand the sacrifices that go into pursuing a career in music.

Those 15 years [as a singer] were training for what I’m doing. It also helps me when selecting artists. It helps me identify performers who will be generous with the audience, and to help find them repertoire that will best highlight their abilities.

The administrative part of my job is equally well informed by the business of singing. I’m very mindful of power hierarchies in the business and how they work in favor or not in favor of artists, and a big part of my work is influencing that in a positive way.

What does LACC mean to you?

LACC was a bridge to who I really was, to who I really am. It was a concrete thing that started as an after-school activity—like a side dish that became the main course. The ability to be a musician at such a young age showed me what was possible: Discipline, excellence, community, and being accountable to others around you is vital to achievement, and LACC taught me so many of those lessons early on.


LACC wants to hear from our alumni! If you or someone you know would be a good fit for the Alumni Corner—where we catch up with alumni who are still finding ways to make beautiful music, please reach out to Jared Clark at jclark@lachildrenschorus.org.

INTERESTED IN SINGING WITH LACC?